I tried sending a message to a chat lady called Potato.  I was informed that I had to be a Premium member to do this.  This is my first try at sending anything so whats up with that?  What about the 5 free ones?
The "5 Free Ones" refers to forum posts. If you want to send a message to a member as a basic account holder then either you, the recipient or both must be a Premium member.

Here it is from the 50plus Help section:

" Are there any membership fees involved?

Our Basic Membership is free of charge. There are no fees involved unless you decide to upgrade to a Premium Membership. As a Basic Member you can contact Premium Members (with a "premium" badge) and reply to incoming messages. You can also send "send a smile" to all members, use the chat and post in the various forums (limit 5 posts per day). For unlimited access (contacts) a Premium Membership is required.

What are the benefits of a Premium Membership?

As a Premium Member, you have unlimited access and the following benefits:

» Up to 35x more contact requests (Premium Members are always listed at the top - and
get much more attention from other members)!
» Unlimited contact access: You can contact everyone.
» Everyone can contact you.
» Always see who has viewed your profile.
» Use the private chat (an instant messaging feature).
» Send private messages in the public chat.
» Use the expanded search feature.
» Write in other members's guest books.
» Send messages to multiple recipients.

Hope this helps! :)

-DaddyFish
KentAllard wrote: "...May I ask, is it that you are not fully aware of badoo.com, or is it that here your interests conflict with an honest assessment of other websites (i. e., You've received payback for your support at 50plus.).

You see the way it works in a competitive environment is that if you find a better deal elsewhere, eventually others will have to match it or lose market share.